Hobbyist Forums banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
322 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
HI ALL does anyone have any experience with eaither reaper master series or vallejo paint ? and can tell me if eaither are worth trying and what i would thin them with THANKS

·
Registered
8,132 Posts
I have no experience with Reaper Master paints, but I used some of their regular jar paints some while ago and they were of a decent quality. They are acrylics and of the type you thin with water. Im sure Reaper may sell a solvent for them as well.

Vallejo paints are excellent and I use them a lot for 1/35 work. They are an interesting paint. You have to thin them slightly (again with water or Vallejo thinners). They flow smoothly and have very opaque pigments for the most part. You can thin them a lot and they shade becomes translucent, but the color does not change. You can build up layers of color with multiple applications. Vallejo's metallics are also very good for acrylic metallics. Their special alcohol-based Super series has very bright metallics. Super Silver looks like chrome on small applications. Vallejo also has things like a black shading set with various paints used to shade and hilight black! They also have some good shades in their Panzer Aces series, like multiple shades of rust.

·
Premium Member
4,088 Posts