Hobbyist Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have noticed in the Warpaint Series No 84 that the F6F Hellcats from different carriers in '44 seemed to have specific tail and/or wing markings. I don't know if these are carrier specific or squadron specific, but I have not found any references to these.

some are tail bands, bars, whole or part of the tail, some are arrow heads (USS Bennington), letters ( X on the USS Wasp), three white bars (USS Cabot), front half of the tail and the wing flaps white (USS Bataan) and so on. The Essex had an hour glass in white, the Enterprise a triangle. I am modeling my father's ship, the USS Monterey, CVL 26, and the only pictures I have show wing tips painted white.

Does anyone know of any references for these markings. They seem to have been used only after adoption of the gloss sea blue for the Hellcats in '44.

I am primarily an armor modeler, early WWII german stuff, so I am out of my element here.

If anyone can point me towards the right references or sites, I would be most appreciative.

·
Registered
8,132 Posts
I'd as on Hyperscale on the plane forum. Bet you get exactly what you need. One frequent poster there is the author of some of the Squadron camo and markings books. Or, you could pick up Squadron's US Navy camo and markings book... might be a good ref for your kits.

·
Oxidation Genius
31,235 Posts
There's GOT to be books out there specific to what you need. Search at Amazon and Squadron?

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
US Navy WWII markings

Thanks for the help. I just got the Squadron book on markings and camo for WWII. Unfortunately, it is not very good. There are no tables or systematic review of how markings evolved during the war and it seems many camo schemes are left out.