Hobbyist Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
39 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am fairly new to Sci-Fi model building. Which of the Star trek model kits should I try to build? Which is the easiest and with the least amount of fit issues, etc. I tried building a Polar lights Kiligon ship. That thing was sooo crooked and almost needed a dry-wall crew to fill in the gaps. The neck looked like it was in a fuhouse mirror. What kit do you reccommend that I buy and build?

·
Registered
17 Posts
o.k., it kinda depends on a few detail on what your looking for in a model. are you planning on lighting it? are you looking to build it straight out of the box and just paint it with no accurazing done? or are you wanting to do some accurazing but not much?

right off the top of my head the most bang for your buck is the polar lights/ round2 tos enterprise in 1/1000 scale. it seems to be pretty darn accurate.(those that can, will chime in with the small details that are off) the added bonus is that it comes with parts to make all three versions of the ship. the two pilot versions and the one seen in the series. another good upside is that it comes with plenty of clear parts in case you decide to light it up. not only that but it's a good mix of not to small to add great details, and not to large to take up alot of shelf space.(fits on most small book case shelfs) the only main down side to this model is that for some reason paramont required them to put the licencing info on the outside of the model. it's on the bottom side of the disk. but this is even easily rectified by a little sanding. take like five ten minutes of good elbow grease. and for around $15 bucks at your local model store it's easy on the wallet.