Hobbyist Forums banner

1 - 20 of 50 Posts

·
Registered
394 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey everyone!:wave:

I was thinking, and I decided to make a thread for everyone to discuss how they started RC racing, and why they chose to race oval over the rest?

I started RC racing, because it looked amazingly fun and being a huge race-fan, it is a good experience to meet new people and learn more about the mini-version on nascar racing. The reason why I chose to race oval was because I am a huge Nascar fan, and our local RC track is famous for it's unique tri-oval and I wanted to be a part of it. There are more reasons why, but those are the main reasons.

So, how did you get into RC racing, and why did you pick to race oval???

Thanks!
Justin #29
JDM RC Racing
Jaco RC Tires
Silva Concepts
Bandit RC Bodies
Pole Position Batteries
www.geocities.com/cornwallrc

·
Registered
2,392 Posts
I too was a huge race fan & used to race big cars. I have been toying with R/C cars for around18 years but about 8 years ago one of my buddies that races big cars too asked if a few of us wanted to go check out the R/C racing in a nearby town. We took our Rustler's with us to mess around with at the track & ended up racing them that night. I was completely hooked!! I started ordering stuff to start oval racing that following Monday.

·
Registered
1,657 Posts
Used to race motorcycles, retired at 30. Saw a television ad on TV of buggys going over jumps for local hobbyshop. I went and bought an R/C 10 and the rest is history!. I Paid extra to have the RC-10 assembled, it took them 10 days and $100.00 bucks.

·
Registered
904 Posts
Well, i hate full scale racing, and i have been exposed to wooden models for quite a while.. then i was in a hobby shop buying some balsa wood and saw a little Micro RS4, and setup a little track in my basement, then moved on to a small concrete track and raced with about 20 others twice a week