Hobbyist Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,

I graduated from college this spring and have some time to kill. During my year off I thought it might be good to take up a new hobby or two. I think building model kits would help keep me busy. However, I have zero experience with them. Furthermore, I'm not really interested in model planes, ships, military vehicles. Instead subjects or themes I have an outside passion are sci-fi but particularly Star Trek. I've seen some gorgeous models of the Enterprise A on this site and that's sort of what I would like to eventually go to.

Of course, I realize that it will take a very long time for me to be anywhere that good and I don't even know if I have the patience but I would like to try. Does anyone have any suggestions for a good model kit to start with? Plus maybe one or two to follow up with? Keep in mind I'm just learning.
I'm a little strapped for cash but am willing to put down a hundred to get started.

Thanks in advance

·
Registered
17 Posts
my best recommendation is if you like trek i'd start with the 1/1000 tos enterprise from round 2. about 15 bucks,pretty accurate,plus comes with parts to do either pilot episodes or the production ship. the only downside is that paramont made them put the licensing info on the OUTSIDE of the bottom of the disk. but it can be sanded off really easily.

and since you like the ent-a just wait another month and they'll be releasing the 1/1000 ent-a. and from the write up of it on starshipmodeler.net it looks pretty accurate. but compared to the ertle one pretty much anything is accuarate.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
well since i'm just starting off should i order 2 of those models just in case and/or can you recommend another model to follow off the the first one as a step up after I'm done? That way I can order both at once and save on shipping.

Thanks

·
Registered
1,203 Posts