Hobbyist Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Premium Member
600 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am presently working on a door track for school ( I am a teacher) and I've tried both the solderless approach using the tabs and trying to solder to the bottom of the rail using a wet rag however both came off when I went to connect I guess I moved them around to much. I 've done some research on the site and I'm curious," What is the best way to Solder a Custom Terminal Track?" I want the contact to be strong because I plan on moving the track and even making different layouts without having to redo a terminal everytime.. This is my second door track the first I used the custom terminals of Greg Brauns his wire seemed to be very flexible and I was wondering if that was part of the trick and if that type of wire is available at Home Deopt, if so what type is it?

·
Registered
2,527 Posts
I can offer these tips from my own experiance and what I've been able to read. There are a couple different ways to get this done.

Check out this site for one method:

http://www.supervipersystems.com/VargoSpeedway/HO_Tech/Power_Taps/power_taps.html

You can also solder wires to the underside of a real terminal track. You'll probably want to cut off the side box as well as seperating the common ground. Each lane should have it's own ground connection.

On my track, I soldered my wires to the underside of the rail on a regular straight. I used solid wire, but when I do it again, I would use flexible stranded wire. After soldering, I hot glued the wires to the underside of the track for a few inches to hopefully prevent me from pulling on the connection. The wires are about a foot in length and I put a male (or female) connector on the end. I can then plug the wires from the power pack and controller into these terminal track wires. My wires pass through to the underside of the table. If you choose to run them out the side, you'll need to create an opening on the side.