Hobbyist Forums banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
558 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've bought a few models on ebay that say they are Chase plastic. Both are Polar lights kits. What is the signifigence of this if any?

Fairly new member of the forum and love it. I am primarily a figure modeler.
Thanks for any information!

·
Registered
946 Posts
Hi. A few years ago, before Polar Lights sold out to RC2 and temporarily disappeared, it did "chase" versions of its kits. Not all of them, I don't remember exactly when it started. The way it worked, basically, is that something like 1 in 12 of the kits they manufactured would be in a different color of plastic than the rest of the run. Might have been 1 in 10, I'm sure someone else here remembers for sure.

At first, the "chase" kits were all cast in white plastic. I think the Batcycle was that way, maybe all of the Batman vehicle kits. The chase version of the 16-inch Godzilla was in white plastic. As I recall, people started referring to them as "white lightning" kits.

After a while, though, PL started casting the chase versions in different colors. In fact, I think the chase versions of the kits were usually in a color of plastic that made more sense for the kit while the rest of the run was done in white. The chase version of the Hulk was in green, Spider-Man was red, Captain America was blue. The chase version of the 1/350 Enterprise was a sort of creamy color.

I know someone here has done a great job of documenting all this.

For what it's worth, I haven't noticed that these chase kits command prices much if any higher than the regular ones, but I suspect that will change as time goes on and all the kits grow scarcer.

·
Premium Member
7,148 Posts
Right you are Todd, I heard it was one in twelve...I've got a Land of the Giants Snake kit that's all white and is a 'chase' kit...:wave:
Mcdee

·
Registered
558 Posts
Discussion Starter #7