Hobbyist Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
102 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've got the new Integy Auto Tire Truer and when I opened it, I found it has an adjustment that allows it to true the foam in a cone. Soooo, that gets me to thinking. If I coned the right front slightly, then set the camber to place the tire patch flat, that would make a larger tire patch on the track potentially giving me better grip. I'm still new to setups on pan cars, and I consistantly run about 8 laps off of TQ, so I'm surely not any guru on setups. But, why would Integy offer the option if not useful? Any ideas would be helpful. Thanks

Jim McGuire

·
Registered
102 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
My thinking is that the coned tire has a wider width as measured side to side, giving it more tire patch on the track. Thus "tricking" the car into thinking its riding on wider tires. To exagerate my point, the car "should" turn better on 5 inches tire patch than a 1/4" inch tire patch. Of course, my idea would only really add up a millionth of a millimeter in actual measured difference in width. Now, will that really make a difference, prolly not. But, again, why would Integy add on the option?

·
Registered
450 Posts
Integy is into touring cars and I'd guess thats where you might use that option but what does this have to do with brushless

·
Registered
2,685 Posts
Fineousfingers said:
I've got the new Integy Auto Tire Truer and when I opened it, I found it has an adjustment that allows it to true the foam in a cone. Soooo, that gets me to thinking. If I coned the right front slightly, then set the camber to place the tire patch flat, that would make a larger tire patch on the track potentially giving me better grip. I'm still new to setups on pan cars, and I consistantly run about 8 laps off of TQ, so I'm surely not any guru on setups. But, why would Integy offer the option if not useful? Any ideas would be helpful. Thanks

Jim McGuire