Hobbyist Forums banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Premium Member
5,973 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been hearing a horror story about how Rustoleum, which is the parent company of Testors, was going to discontinue the brand. My local hobby shops had no information about this, so I wrote directly to Rustoleum USA. They ("ROProductSupport") responded as you will see below; I have edited the exchange only for clarity, leaving the substance or their emails intact.

06/11/2020
ME: I hate to have to ask, but I've heard rumors and want to get the facts straight from the source. Does Rustoleum intend to discontinue the Testors line of paints and hobby supplies? I have been using them for nearly 60 years and would hate to have to find new materials at this late date.

06/16/2020
ROProductSupport: As a manufacturer of paint products, we have a long history of producing hobby kits and supplies. To that end, we are evolving our strategy to focus more keenly on Testors, our flagship brand and are discontinuing our Pactra, Aztek, and Model Master Brands as the demand for these products continue to decline.

We will continue to support the hobby market with a robust line of aerosols, brush paints, tools, and accessories and always looking for opportunities to innovate in these categories. Please keep in mind that we do have limited quantities available and hobby shops will have access to that inventory.

06/17/2020