Hobbyist Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Model Murdering
7,331 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Video Jimmy I'm not. So no laughin' at the old pics! The pics are of the original first hack (prototype) so they're pretty rough and not an exact reflection of recent evolutions. The idea should still come through! I'll preface this by saying that I usually have some idea where I'm going with one of these before I build one. Be it saving a severely butchered original, or changing the character of a box stock body. No collector value/mint chassis' were harmed. I like lowered properly stanced cars. My chassis box was overflowing. Every body's got one. I studied the traditional methods for lowering and was left wanting. Hoggin' out motorpits by dremeling and sanding is just too tedious for a lazy guy like me. It drops the CG but your still stuck with shopping cart fray wheels to close the air gap and complete the effect. This in turn leaves some wheel well issues as the overall tire and wheel diameter shrinks. Post shaving works OK but gets limited pretty quick at the gear plate. A decent drop but not a slam. I had seen some vague pics of chassis mod on the Yahoo T-Jet site, like I found later under Dr Synths in the HT photo album, but nobody new jack about it. I began by studying the early AFX chassis, nice ride height, tall tire profiles, and superior handling for the times. I selected a great t-jet chassis with porked rear axle holes. Step 1: With a sharp #2 blade cut out the rear pinion shaft plate up to the rear magnet housing and square out the back leaving the rear screw apron. Trim the inner rails neatly! Step 2: Make an indexing jig from the front of another junk chassis. Again cut the front pan area away and trim the rails neatly. Should look like a pickle jabber. Trim the front right up to the long wheelbase hole. Step 3: Scribe a vertical line on the rear chassis rail through the axle hole center using a small square. Overlap the jig into the rear of your chassis f