Hobbyist Forums banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
112 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone,

I think you can pretty much say I'm a total newbie at collecting cars. I've been buying toy cars for years, mainly replicas of the cars I owned. But for the past few months, I started to buy all kind of toy cars I liked, here in local stores as well as on the net. And I think I have been hit by what you may call the Bug, with a Capital B, since my "collection" has been growing and growing week after week since then. I collect mainly Greenlights, Johnny Lightnings and, of course, Hot Wheels.

Now, to my questions to all of you HW collectors.

I've read a lot of posts about the Treasure Hunt cars. Today, I found my very first ones, these 2 Nissan Skylines. Are they worth anything? I'm asking, not because I want to sell them to make profit, no, it's just plain curiosity. I'll probably keep one in the blister and maybe open the other one to put on a shelf or something.

Recently, I also bought a few of these Mystery Cars off the Net, because they're not selling them here in Canada. I suppose their value is higher if I leave them intact without opening them, right? Do some of you open them? Is there anything of interest to find inside? What kind of cars do Mattel put in them? Random cars or selected castings?

Well, sorry for such a long first post. And congratulations everyone for keeping alive such a fantastic board for real collectors. Also, thanks to all of those willing to give me their input about my questions.

I'll be looking forward your replies and your knowledge.

·
Registered
1,115 Posts
Welcome to the boards Major Nelson, how's Jeannie? :lol: Sorry couldn't resist.

As far as your TH's and their value, opinions will vary greatly. Most will agree that if you are collecting for your own enjoyment, then collect only what you like and their value is priceless.