Hobbyist Forums banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everybody. Greetings from Brazil!

I have recently bought the Spiderman kit and I am in the process of builiding it. Before I started, I read somewhere that it would be best to paint it first, prior to assembly as some areas may be difficult to paint afterwards. I usually build airplanes and most of the time I paint camouflages on them after building the fuselage and wings. I am new to figure building and painting, so I would appreciate some advice.

This is the process I followed:
- Glued together the sub-assemblies (arms and legs)
- After some putty and sanding, I primed the parts
- Then I airbrushed the red color, masked it using Tamiya tape and liquid mask, and then I airbrushed the blue color.
- Removed the masks and glued arms and legs to the body
- Assembled the body halves.
Then, a really nasty seam appeared between the two body halves, specially in the bottom and shoulder areas. :(
I am now filling the seams and preparing to retouch the paint job. I am a little desapointed that I will have to repaint a large portion of the model and I am not sure if I will be able to obtain a good finished model.
So, what am I doing wrong here?
Should I have done something prior to painting that would avoid this problem?

I still have a Green Goblin and an Iron Man in their boxes and I would like to avoid such problems on them, if possible.

Thanks in advance for any comments.
Regards

Luis

·
Registered
3,003 Posts
Luis,
I ended up removing a lot of the locking tabs on the arms to let the halves of the shoulders meet better. I only ended up with a small area (from the armpit to the hip) that I had to sand and touch up. I also cut the locating pins from the halves of the inside of the head

always test fit before you paint.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thank you, Lou.