Hobbyist Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Premium Member
600 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I was sent the following link describing how to add powertaps to a track. Before I attempt to do the same to my TKO dragstrip but I have a question or two so I was wonderig if anybody here was familiar with its author of the article or perhaps may be able to answer a question or two themselve. I apologize if these are obvious questions but this is my first time attempting to do this:

http://home.comcast.net/~medanic/Track-Rail.htm

1) Is the 16 guage wire being run through the two drilled holes and lay on top of the track next to the rail or on the bottom in the area that was grounded out?

2) If on top how do solder it to the rail while it is upside down?

3) Can I solder from the top on of the track instead of flipping it over?

4) Could you show me more pictures of the process and one of the finished product both a top and bottom view?

Thanks in advance

·
Premium Member
2,145 Posts
Steve's pretty crafty,his site is usually worth reading through.

Here's a video,of how i did about 1/2 mine.
The other half are done totally differant from these,and are superior.
I don't have any video of them though.

This video if i've done things right,shows the completed jumpers.

·
Premium Member
600 Posts
Discussion Starter #4 (Edited)
Thanks Hornet, Now he solders from the top and never mentions using a wet towel in additon he used 18 guage solid core as opposed to 16 guage stranded. Also, it appears to me he drills his holes inside the rail as opposed to outsidethe rail since you've done others which would you recommend?

·
Premium Member
2,145 Posts
Those ones are done using 18G solid core wire and are inside the rail.

I avoid stranded wire as my jumper wire,soldered stranded wire becomes solid core wire when done soldering,and it won't take the abuse like a solid core wire will,so i start with solid core as my jumper