Hobbyist Forums banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,
I'd like to buy my son his first slot car track for his sixth birthday soon. I'm a complete novice and had only heard of Scalextric, which is what the lucky kids had when I was young. My partner grew up with Carrera.

I found this forum while browsing on the web, but obviously most of the people posting here are experts with quite elaborate tracks and I'm a bit baffled.

Can anyone recommend a good starter set for our son, which will need to be packed up and stored somewhere in our not enormous house when not in use. Would be good if it was durable and easy to assemble too.

Thank you in advance for any help you can give me!

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
thanks very much, I will look at Carrera 1/43. do you think that is better than Scalextric?

(some of the threads on the forum you linked to were a bit detailed for me - sorry, I know most people on here aren't novices but very grateful for any tips...)

·
Registered
272 Posts
Hi Henry's Mum,

If your house is not that large, have you thought about HO scale? The cars are much smaller as is the track which is ideal for smaller houses. Plus the cars do work out much cheaper than 1/32nd (such as Scalextric).

You could look at Micro Scalextric, Tomy AFX and Lifelike as some of the current manufacturers.

Your profile says London. Whereabouts? There are several HO slot clubs around the South of England. I race at Worthing HO racing for instance and also have a track at home. Worthing HO has plenty of Junior and Adult racers every month and is great fun. Have a look at their website and see if that is a possible option for you. www.whoracing.org.uk.

·
Premium Member
2,263 Posts
Hi Henry's mum
First Wekcome to HobbyTalk and the Slot Car Section.
And granted not everybody on here is a novice, but most will try and help.