Hobbyist Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm thinking about getting a resin model but since I've never worked with resin before, I was wondering a few things about it. I've seen that some models may have slight imperfections from the casting and have seen references to putty being used. Can Bondo spot putty (either the red or white variety) be used on resin? Also, what type of glue works best? And finally, can resin be painted with any type of paint (laquer, acrylic, enamel) or can it only be painted with a particular one?

·
Registered
5,478 Posts
Bondo is great for filling seams and pin holes, after you apply the Bondo, a few swipes with a Q-tip dipped in fingernail polish will remove any excess and greatly cut down on sanding time.

CA (superglue) is the glue of choice for most, the slow curing types are more forgiving, and a spray accelerator will set it instantly when everythings lined up just right.

You can use any type of paint as long as you apply a primer coat first, I like lacquer-based primers because they dry quick, some enamel primers are slow to dry on resin. You can get lacquer based primer at Walmart or auto supply stores, Duplicolor is a good brand that comes in several colors. Make sure you wash resin parts real well before priming, the mold releases will keep the paint from adhering right.

A good well-produced resin kit is no harder to complete than a styrene kit.

·
Premium Member
8,335 Posts