Hobbyist Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi I'm kind of new to diecast customizing but I've done 4 cars now and am having fun with it no matter how they turn out. I'm mostly dealing with NASCAR diecast in 1/64. I start with a Winner's Circle car and take it apart, strip off the paint, repaint it, apply my own decals, and reassemble the car. I've been running into an issue though when I reattach the windows of the car. I have been using some 'super glue' to reattach them, but the plastic has been getting foggy and crazed. I've read of model glues that work better for clear plastic but I don't know what I'm looking for or if glue is even a good idea to use on this type of diecast. Any help would be much appreciated, thanks!

·
Registered
1,522 Posts
Dinger,
Welcome to the HT Customs Board,

If your window assembly is hot originally held in placed by a factory rivet cap then there is no need to glue them in during reassembly.
The interior and base will keep the windows in place.

Mainline HW's have their window assemblies kept in check by their interior's during assembly of the remaining base.

Some Jada and better HW's use a splayed out rivet cap, in the center of the roof, to keep window assemblies tightly in place.
This must be ground away using a high speed cutter.

Super Glue can be used, and is the best choice, to reinsert windows when they have to have this splayed out rivet cap ground away during removal.
Just put a very small amount, much less than a drop, around what is left of the rivet cap. Just a very small amount.
Reinsert the window assembly, being careful not to touch the windows themselves to the glue you've applied, and squeeze together tightly for a minute or so and gently blow across the windows.
Too much glue will spread out to the windows and craze them.

I use this method myself and never fog a window.

--CadillacPat the UnCustomizer--
Keeping the ZING in CustomiZInG!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!