Hobbyist Forums banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
4,551 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Ok I have been racing pan cars for aprox 15 years now... I have always been taught to run the right rear out from the right front, and either line up the left rear, or make it as close as you can get it.. mainly ive been taught to try to have the rear end at 7 7/8 or as close more or less..

Last night i was finishing my unpacking in my work room.. ( I bought a house 6 month ago).. I found a print out from rc oval about Danny B's blackbook.. I sat down and read a bit of it for the first time..

In there he says you should line up the right rear with the right front, and start with the left rear out. He also says to run the rear axle the same width as the front end.. This would put the rear axle around 7 1/2. Whenever i have made the right rear closer to inline with the RF the car always seems tight..Also when i run a narrower rear it seems to make the car very twitchy..

So my question is how many guys actually use this axle spacing, and what are the effect you have found doing so?

·
Registered
2,685 Posts
burbs said:
So my question is how many guys actually use this axle spacing, and what are the effect you have found doing so?
To answer your question I would say just about everyone.

Its true you run your car square but you will have to play with moving weight around to get the balance right for a particular track.

Moving the front or rear wheels in or out with one spacer at a time fine tunes the cars handling going into and coming out of a turn.

·
Registered
2,790 Posts
I could be wrong as I'm too lazy to measure, but with my KSG I'm pretty sure a rear width of 7 1/2 would eliminate the long diff hub even when the pod is offset (with full width foams). I can't recall seeing too many people running that narrow ever on flat carpet. I usually run more like 8" or even 8.1" with the left rear all the way in.

·
Registered
2,568 Posts