Hobbyist Forums banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
3,065 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I've spent the last evening and morning trying to research links and read up about this. I think I'm gaining a better understanding. Please forgive me if my questions seem dumb or redundant. I have no experience with routed tracks and industrial power supplies. I'm a little nervous about plunking down $80-$120 on something that I know little about.

I know what the definition of linear is, but what does linear mean when talking about power supplies?

I'm assuming "open frame" just means that I'll need to mount them inside an enclosure. Right?

Is there anything else I would need to know when buying used power supplies?

Is there anything else I might need besides the power supplies, a possible enclosure for them and the track with the terminals on the side?

Are there any recommended questions I would need to ask of someone who is selling them? (besides obvious things like price and power specs)

·
Registered
749 Posts
Captain Fred,

Everyone is pretty much in agreement the best deal out there is the 20 volt 10 amp Adjustable voltage unit from AG&G, Alan Galinko. Link is below.
http://www.slotcars.org/hodra/ag&gProducts2.htm

This unit will not only have enough juice, it will allow you to Lower the Voltage for when you want to run Slots with Kids who are just learning or when a car is just so Twitchy that is hard/not fun to drive.

They run cool, have protection built in and are rock solid.
Buy it once and never think about power again.
Best $120 you will spend.
Unless you are running a Drag Strip with Unlimited Neo cars, this is more than ample power.

And Yes, Open frame means they are not mounted inside a box.

Hope this helps,
Keith

·
Registered
3,065 Posts
Discussion Starter #3 (Edited)
At this point in time, I won't be running a drag strip. Thanks for the link Keith.

My next questions would be,