Hobbyist Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
5,478 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
What size are the Pop Rivets are being used for re-attaching a HW / GL
back together ....I have been using small screws for the past 20+ years
but thinking the rivets may be cheaper in the long run.

Any Info will be great appreciated.

Thanks again

·
Banned
5,866 Posts
Personally, I like the screw method when I do it as I have changed my mind on wheels and such down the road. Rivets never seemed to work well for me.

I also just JB weld them and "ka-Fooey" on the screws and rivets.....

·
Registered
764 Posts
I haven't done many, but so far I've been getting lucky. :)

I haven't drilled the rivets all the way, so the base just snaps back in place. :thumbsup:

·
Registered
5,478 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Thanks for the Input guys...

With a little web searching I found the Info ...

Basic Components:

3/32nd Aluminum Pop Rivets
3/32nd Drill Bit (commonly known as a #41)
3/16th Drill Bit
Stationary Drill or Drill Press
Rivet Tool
Eye Protection
Good Lightning

·
Registered
350 Posts
That good lighting is an important part.

You should also get a tray or a box top to drill on, makes clean up so much easier.

I use 2-56 button head screws. They look very similar to the stock rivets and make maintenance on the race cars a lot easier. Plus you can always re-tighten 'em if you need to.

·
Registered
1,522 Posts
Hey LNL,

I use nothing but Rivets to reassemble my Customs because I like a clean, permanent professional finish. Just like the factory.

Rivets aren't necessarily cheaper than 1/56 and 2/56 sheet metal screws that you can find at Ace Electronics.
But, JL Rivet posts are of a smaller diameter than HW's and using small screws may be easier for some people.
Drilling out the JL post with a 1/16" bit and using a tiny sheet metal screw is a quick and easy way to reassemble those JL's if you don't mind the look.