Hobbyist Forums banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
3,126 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello lighting wizards. I'm getting ready to start my second foray into the lighted model realm. My first attempt, a lit 1/24 Mustang, wasn't what I had hoped for. I'm putting this failure behind me and starting the planning process for this newest project.

I have never built ST models before, my work involves model cars and a few military planes and ships to this point. I purchased the AMT 1/2500 Enterprise set (TOS, A, & B) a while back and now I'm ready to really start diving in. The Enterprise B and Excelsior are my favorite ST starships so I will be building this one last so I can put together everything I practiced and learned from the TOS and A model builds.

My plan thus far is to draw out plans to scale of the ship then overlay my wiring plans onto the drawing. I anticipate using 3 3mm LED's for the whole ship. 1 for each nacelle, and one in the saucer section. I would like to use fiber optics to light up some windows throughout the ship. I will continue to post in this thread as my planning progresses (once I start the actual build I'll take it to the scifi section), but here's my questions off the bat....

I plan to set the LED's up in series... does each LED need a resistor or is one for the series enough? I have a package off of ebay of 3mm white LED's that already have the resistor in place.

Where is a good source for fiber optics and what would be a good size?

Will a 9V battery be enough to power the whole setup?

What other challenges does anyone see that I might not have thought of yet?

·
Registered
1,140 Posts