Hobbyist Forums banner

1 - 20 of 37 Posts

·
Registered
135 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm interested in buying my first plane this coming spring and have been eye-balling the Hobbyzone line of park fliers. I see Megatech also has a simular model. Also, I've been racing land based RC for 6+ years.

My question is, what should I be looking for? I'm very interested in the Aerobird Xtreme as it seems to be "big" enough for me to "grow" into with it's 3 channels. Then there is the fantasy of replacing its 540 motor with a 6 turn!

The Firebird looks great but has only 2 channels. Good enough to fly, great to learn with (?) but will it satisfy down the road? Will I be wanting that 3rd channel in a month or two? Should I be looking elsewhere?

Thanks for looking!

·
Registered
1,573 Posts
I've started to look at the park fliers, as well. My only experience with them was several years ago and a great deal has changed, the options and quality have improved.

I've been flying wings and really enjoy it. Slope soaring with a little combat every now and then. All 2 channel.

What kind of flying locations do you have available? Do you want to only use electric?

·
Registered
767 Posts
Ok, here is my 2 cents, I have been flying electric planes for the past year and a half.

The Aerobird planes, and the parkzone planes, granted are nice fliers, but I personally dont feel that they are a good starter plane. I have seen many beginners, lose them repeatedly.

The GWS line of planes proves time and time to be the plane for beginners, I learned on one, and still fly some of them today. Either a slowstick, or a Tigermoth, or even the J-3 cub are all good fliers, althought you will have to assemble them, and they are not rtr. But a Cheap 3 or 4 channel radio system can be used with them. If you want some better quality parkfliers hobby lobby has a great line of planes as well.

Any questions shoot me an e-mail I`d be glad to answer anything.
[email protected] :)

·
Registered