Hobbyist Forums banner

1 - 20 of 57 Posts

·
Registered
2,825 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have had this in the stash for a while, It's a crappy kit as we all know, but I wanted to build it before the new kit comes out the end of the year.

It will be out of the box, no mods at all. I have ordered an aftermarket decal set as the original ones are yellowed badly. My kit is missing the directions, but I
built this as a kid and it only has about 18 parts.

·
Registered
5,553 Posts
Sink marks? Do you have any idea how hard it is on the hull of a ship to enter and leave the atmosphere of a planet? ;)

·
Registered
2,825 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
And the Galileo had it's share of issues!

I started painting today. Watching "The Galileo Seven" the interior is mostly green. I used Krylon Celery. Looks close to me. I also glued the engine nacelles.

I had to clean up the sprue attachment points on the top hull.

·
Registered
5,762 Posts
Looking good! I wish PL would re-pop this kit. I know how 'off' it is, sooo many ways off, but it still has nostalgia value I think. Same as the MPC Eagle, the Aurora Flying Sub and Seaview kits. Heck, even the original AMT Enterprise!

All these kits mentioned and more can be built into a nice looking model that will be instantly recognized by a casual or 'lapsed' fan.

So I have to ask. What made this a 'Special Edition' release?

·
Registered
2,825 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Thanks! It is a crappy kit, but as you said it it has a lot of nostalgia value.

Jamie at R2 was asked many times about this kit and his response was It is just so bad that they there was no way to release it with any kind of improvements.

I think the Special Edition is the clear windshield. I seem to remember that the original kit had solid windows.

·
Registered
399 Posts
Looking good! I wish PL would re-pop this kit.
There are still old issues floating around. it was re-popped in the 1990s.