Hobbyist Forums banner

1 - 20 of 211 Posts

·
Registered
1,212 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Allright. For the racers out there that enjoy the look and feel of open wheel oval racing, the Indy/F1 car that I've been running for the past 9 months is now in production.rcindycars.com is now marketing the chassis that I had comissioned. A friend of mine with big time chassis design experience and with some input from genuine open wheel oval engineers put this car to a cad design. I had some made and have been tweaking on it for some time.
A word from the website.

GRX - Oval Chassis

This car is designed for oval racing only. It is made to turn left very well. The chassis has a unique front end geometry where the right front tire is longer than the left front. This is called "lead in". The design allows the car to scrub less speed through the turns. Faster through the turns is faster on the straights. The car is also designed with the track of the car to be narrower on the left front than the right front to give the car more left side weight. More left side weight should allow the car to corner faster.

Other improvements are a one piece chassis design to allow more ride height adjustability from Velodrome big tire settings to small diameter foam carpet tire settings. The top plate has space allotted to allow mounting the rear wing to the chassis. This design allows the wing to make downforce on the main chassis.

The battery slots are cut to allow four cells in a row for those who like 4-cell stock, 4-cell 19turn, or 4-cell mod classes to enjoy the open wheel racing experience. There are four slots also cut on the right side to allow battery placement 3X3 or 4X2 for the 6-cell classes.

Like the other RCIndycar designs, the car is made to use all the hop-ups which fit the Associated style pan cars for easy parts availability and wide tuning ranges.

Here are some features of the GRX - 4 Cell Oval Chassis:

3mm Woven Graphite, since piece chassis design