Hobbyist Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello All! I am new to this scale model arena and wanted to introduce myself. I am a big Star Trek fan, so I decided that building Trek models would be a good hobby to start (I have now found that the hobby is an obsession). I am working on my first NX 01 (this one is for a friend, the next will be for me) and I wanted to get some advice on the colors. I used Testors MM Steel as the base coat, masked, and sprayed with a mix of MM Jet Exhaust/Steel (75/25 mix). It turned out fairly well, but I want MY display model to be really accurate. Any comments will be appreciated.

·
Registered
154 Posts

·
Registered
2,743 Posts
welcome we3bears.. the polar lights website has GREAT reference pictures of the nx-01 to go by, and various threads on this forum discuss duplicating the patterns on the hull.

·
Registered
4,863 Posts
Hi we3bears - like razorwyre said, use the images on the Polar Lights web page for the best reference - they were shot by Rob Bonchune who supervises effects for the show.

BTW, hope you're enjoying the model building experience!

chris

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
I am not planning on lighting the first NX 01 I am working on, but I am thinking of lighting the second one. The model is too big to NOT at least think of lighting it. I have seen some threads on the lighting subject, but I have never attempted it. Any suggestions are welcom.

·
Registered
903 Posts
You might want to try lighting something simple first. I've been lighting models for a long time and I still make mistakes (not very often). Make your mistakes on something simple ... and expendable. Then you know what to do on the NX-01. Second: check out all of the lighting components available, and get the ones you like best. Jumping to a conclusion can be expensive.

·
Registered
250 Posts