Hobbyist Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi Everyone, I am new to the forums
I have been collecting 1/64th scale diecast for a long time with an alterior motive... I am an S scale train modeler.
As such, I am not so "in the loop" about die cast collecting and have a few questions.
First, maybe this is common knowledge in the collecting community, but where can you find new or good used vinyl 48 car carry cases? I used to get them at KB Toys, but then it seems Hot Wheels decided the design was too dated and replaced them with the hard plastic ones. I really don't like my cars rolling around in those cases and much prefer the old vinyl style.

Second, how close are the Pixar "Cars" playsets to 1/64th scale and where can one find them easily and or at a good price? they are out of stock at walmart.com, are they really popular?

Last, does anyone make cases or have suggestions for storing 1/64th scale semi trucks? I just keep most of mine in the origonal boxes which is a pain and takes up a lot of space.

Thanks,
SPLsaab

·
Registered
1,754 Posts
Vinyl cases are long gone I think.
Shop goodwill

another one

But Walmart is selling some nice 48 car cases. The Pros like to line handgun cases with foam and custom cut openings for the cars.
And Welcome to the Hobbytalk Circus :hat:

·
Registered
1,765 Posts
SPLsaab said:
Hi Everyone, I am new to the forums
I have been collecting 1/64th scale diecast for a long time with an alterior motive... I am an S scale train modeler.
As such, I am not so "in the loop" about die cast collecting and have a few questions.

Second, how close are the Pixar "Cars" playsets to 1/64th scale and where can one find them easily and or at a good price? they are out of stock at walmart.com, are they really popular?
Thanks,
SPLsaab