Hobbyist Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
842 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Many thanks Arthur, it's a pretty fast little track, occasional sub 4 second laps, 36x16 carpet. I have been racing for many years(too many lol) everything from 1/24 to 1/8 nitro, dirt, onroad and oval (even took a state championship or two along the way) but still find carpet oval very challenging. Something about hitting that perfect line...over and over and over again(it may be my A.D.D. kicking in) and I find the thrill and fun is not proportionally less because the cars are smaller. I have a friend who is a national caliber 1/10 carpet oval racer who most recently took a 4th place finish in an A-main at the 2014 Ovalmasters in Tennessee who stopped by to race with us one night and he was blown away by the close racing, speed and excitement of these 1/24 cars on our track. He reminded me that the 3.8 to 4.0 lap times we run were the same as the fastest in the class that he ran in at the Ovalmasters. (and for the record, I don't think he won a single heat with us that night lol) I have come to really believe in these little cars and am doing all I can to promote them. It's the cheapest, thrilling, fun racing I have ever done. Thanks again, Beach:thumbsup:

·
Registered
3,426 Posts
So, what lap counting system are you using? I just bought two Losi Micro Rally X cars and have been thinking of doing something similar in my basement. Actually, I've been thinking about a high banked oval... like a Micro Daytona track. :) but then , there's something to be said about the simplicity of a flat oval for RC cars.