Hobbyist Forums banner

1 - 20 of 50 Posts

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello, I'm new to the slot car racing hobby just recently picking up the AFX Super International set. I had a slot car set WAY WAY back, but this is the first I've had since then. I live in Austin and since Forumla 1 is on its way here the thought of building the Circuit of Americas track sparked me to take the plunge back into the hobby.

I have a couple of questions I hope you will be able to answer.

I've found the Formula 1 car bodies induce cars to come out of the slots. From what I've seen a car passing another on the inside will come off the track most of the time on a turn. I beleive this is due to the front fin on the Formula 1 body hitting the car in front. When running without the car bodies a pass rarely induces a car to come off the track. I would think this is a major design flaw. I can't imagine I'm the first to see this, I am thinking of cutting down the front fin. Do you have any ideas how to rectify this issue?

My second question is of slot car racing rules? Are there any rules posted out on the web?

thanks....

·
Premium Member
742 Posts
Meecrob
Welcome aboard! A group of us in north TX are in the middle of a series (race about once a month at different tracks in the area). I know what you are talking about, this seems to apply mainly to the 1.7 Mega G chassis with the F1 bodies running on the Tomy track. On my home track (4 lane Tomy) all the inside curves are 15" and the outside 18" radius. I see that your set has a lot of the 6" and 9" turns. This is where I have seen most of the problems you describe with the 1.7 F1 cars. On the custom tracks we run (Maxx Trak/Wizzard/Bowman) the lane spacing is a little wider so we don't see the problems there.