Hobbyist Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
137 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Just as the subject says, im completely new to 19Turn. I've only run stock up to this point.

As far as timing goes, does everyone pretty much leave it all the way cranked? What brush/spring combo's seem to work? Does timing increase counterclockwise? Are people slotting the brushes, shaving trailing edges?

Thanks in advance for the help!

·
Registered
1,318 Posts
19 turn

What type of 19 turn motor are u running???

seadooo21 said:
Just as the subject says, im completely new to 19Turn. I've only run stock up to this point.

As far as timing goes, does everyone pretty much leave it all the way cranked? What brush/spring combo's seem to work? Does timing increase counterclockwise? Are people slotting the brushes, shaving trailing edges?

Thanks in advance for the help!

·
Registered
2,952 Posts
well......Most guys crank it to 36 Deg..........Some go to 24 Deg. but go up 2 pinions...
to compensate...As far as brushes and Springs......Ask 10 different racers you will get 8 different responses.......I usually run 4383 brushes and 2 purple springs.........I run Kisbey Motors.....
If you have a turbo 30..turbo 35.....at 2 volts at 36 deg....as a rule I look for about 10.5 amp draw with a break in fan......That is a good motor...10.0 - 10.5 is a decent motor.......anything over 10.5 is a real good motor......
Im sure others will post different suggestions but from someone who has been playing with 19T for approx.2 years...this is what works best for me so far....I have never tried anything to the brushes.......DOnt know anyhting about that.........Have fun

·
Premium Member
6,312 Posts
Just wondering how exactly you can tell what a good motor is just by the no load (other than fan) amp draw is? You say that one over 10.5 is real good...I had one that drew 15A but it sucked on the track because the cause of the high draw was a seized bearing.

RC

·
Registered
4,551 Posts