Hobbyist Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
835 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have been using this record method for several years now to catalog Fly Fishing Fly Patterns,
and it dawned on me at the first of the year to give it a try for Hot Wheels. Using 3X5 cards works OK, but
it's getting rather cumbersome to handle the cards when trying to update the record and keep them in order,
plus it has started taking up a little more space than I wanted it to originally, So....

I am going to try a system that will fit in three-ring binders.

Each Hot Wheels in my collection, that I am going to make an effort to scale-back and trim down some, will
have a photo and pertinent information about it placed on a Sports card size card that can be printed out with
six Hot Wheels record cards at a time. These cards will be cut apart....

placed in a Sports Card Sleeve, then slid into a nine-card holding page. The good thing about this is that a close-up
photo of each Hot Wheels can be taken, the info I want about each included on the card, and ....

two cards can fit into each section of the card-holding page back-to-back to get double use out of each section.
The cards can then be organized by year, either alphabetically by name, or by the Collector Number, which I
am leaning toward using right now.

It's a little time consuming, but being retired, I have plenty of time on my hands right now. The time has come to
'free' the Hot Wheels from their packages that I want to keep and they are going into the 48-place storage boxes
that I have been buying at Joann's the last couple of years when they are on sale.

So, whatcha' all think about this effort? All feedback is welcome as Y'all may have an ideer that I have overlooked!
:grin2:​

·
Premium Member
9,406 Posts