Hobbyist Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hi there everyone, im new to modeling, and i just got a defiant model by amt/ertl, and i would like to hear any suggestions u might have. one thing i was curious about is how to enhance the panel lines on the model? any other recommendations would be greatly appreciated

·
Registered
3,331 Posts
I built it some time ago, but here's a few things I remember- the overall fit of the top to bottom is slightly off. You might want to cut off the pins to help that. Can anyone else remember fit problems? I think they were minor, but there.
And you talked about enhancing the panel lines. I assume you want to make them show up better after painting, & not make them deeper. After painting, try doing what's called a "wash" or "drybrushing". You should be able to find great instructions (better than I can give!) at www.culttvman.com

Good luck!

·
Registered
1,060 Posts
I've also seen where people have used a pencil, very lightly, to enhance the panel lines, then smudged it before spraying a clear coat over it. That's just for the panel lines that are all one color, of course; that model has lots of different colors of panels. The easiest way to do it is spray the whole thing in a base coat and then hand paint the other colors; some guys would use masking tape and sprays for all that, but if you're new to modeling, that may be more than you want to put into the whole effort.

By the way, welcome!

·
Registered
1,060 Posts
I'd say pencil is your best bet for that effect. The best way to go (and this will be painstakingly slow, but effective) would be to do a small amount of pencil line, then give it an overspray of clear coat to protect it from smudging, then work on the next section, spray, rinse, repeat.