Hobbyist Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Premium Member
2,412 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm a newbie sort of. I had Aurora Tjets as a kid (that's 40 plus years ago). I have returned to the hobby and am having a great time with the little cars again. The question I have is how to break in the NOS Aurora chassis?? I have purchased many of them and now have a lot of cars that need some help to make them run better. I have siicone tires and such. Problem is I don't remember (comes with age i'm told) what to do with them other than oil them.

Thanks in advance for the help,
Jerry

·
Registered
2,209 Posts
A 9V battery works for me. I run it for 5-10 minutes, then reverse the battery and run it another 5-10 minutes. A little toothpaste in the gears helps a lot (baking soda brands works, too), but not too much.

·
Registered
1,202 Posts
Yet another Washingtonian coming out of the woodwork, welcome!

Drop me an email and I will send you more than you ever wanted to know about getting T-Jets running.

·
Registered
1,202 Posts
I would love to, the problem is, some of the stuff I have is Wrod docs and pdf's so it's hard to share on a board like this. I have found all of this stuff in various places on the web and by emailing some of the "big guys" in the fray world and they have been gracious enough to share their info with me. I am happy to give it out, just not sure how to do it.

·
Model Murdering
7,331 Posts
Hi Jerry, I'm down in Shelton. Check out The Slot Fathers site for a really good check list of tech stuff. It's short and sweet and dead nuts on. For more advanced techniques go to HO World's site and ramble through the archives a bit. Like Marty said there is tons of info everywhere. I'd like to road trip to one of the events on the east side, when I finally get off my butt. If you would be interested we could hop the boat in Kingston, carpool and drop in from the north end.

·
Model Murdering
7,331 Posts