Hobbyist Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
811 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
This is my favorite JL VW. It is because its the first car I remember, my mother used to drive us to school in it. All three of us kids could fit in the boot. My Grandfather bought it brand new in 1963. Here is a pic of the JL with the original invoice from my Grandfathers purchase. My Grandfather bought a new Red VW Beetle every 3 or 4 years until they stop producing them. This was his first one and after he would buy a new one he would give the old Beetle to one of his kids. My mother is his oldest so she got the first one. It lasted until I graduated High School in 1980

I hope you can read it.

·
Registered
1,335 Posts
bon69 said:
This is my favorite JL VW. It is because its the first car I remember, my mother used to drive us to school in it. All three of us kids could fit in the boot. My Grandfather bought it brand new in 1963. Here is a pic of the JL with the original invoice from my Grandfathers purchase. My Grandfather bought a new Red VW Beetle every 3 or 4 years until they stop producing them. This was his first one and after he would buy a new one he would give the old Beetle to one of his kids. My mother is his oldest so she got the first one. It lasted until I graduated High School in 1980

I hope you can read it.
I have one just like it with different wheels because it was my wife's first car ever. She bought it new the year after she graduated high school. Her Dad bought it from her when we got married in 1965 and my Dad gave her a 59 Thunderbird.

·
Registered
1,335 Posts
Galaxieman said:
I have one just like it with different wheels because it was my wife's first car ever. She bought it new the year after she graduated high school. Her Dad bought it from her when we got married in 1965 and my Dad gave her a 59 Thunderbird.
Here's my model. I think I like yours with the old school wheels better. I can't recall what wheels my wife's had on it.

·