Hobbyist Forums banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
99 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all..

I hope it's OK to post this.. But I thought it would be fun to post pics of my Aurora creature restoration!!

Im not a pro builder like some of you guys, but I would like to htink that I am on my way ;)

Here is the kit pic from ebay... Looked good to me...

I won him for $18.. Seemed fair even though he is missing a few pieces, which a very generous boardie sent me for free :) Thanks again!!!

When he got to me, he literally fell apart. It was held together using that old glue that smells like orange citrus...

After more disassembly, stripping of old paint via degreaser, and regluing and a lot of putty ( these pieces dont seem to fit well, which I have deduced through my other thread is a common issue with this kit) I got it to a point where I felt OK putting on a basecoat...

Here is where it stands now.. Ill update more and work progresses!

·
Registered
3,162 Posts
You've basecoated the glow parts!!?! The Creature kit is one of the few for which glow parts are quite appropriate, seeing as they follow the subsections of the body, especially the chest. I would have kept it as a glow kit, but you've probably got an idea in your mind's eye as to how you want it to turn out.

Well done on securing the missing parts, by the way. The Monogram photo-box 1994 version might be the best place to acquire any more spare parts should you need them.

·
Registered
99 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
:) Yeah Im not a big fan of the Glow... I have an idea in my head and the kit, glow or not, was just a means to get to that end result ... Hope that isnt some sort of Aurora kit blasphemy or something.. eek!

·
Registered
4,752 Posts
Well...you did what you did, and that's ok.

Funny...I have a Creature (Non-Glow) in the same stage...painted in a green basecoat and then I stopped. Maybe I'll get inspired to finish mine.