Hobbyist Forums banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 82 Posts

·
Registered
5,426 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I emailed a popular Rc magizine and asked them why they dont have much oval and that i wanna see more in there mag. here is the email i sent:

hey I have a subscription to your Mag and i like it for the most part. the one problem is that your mag seems to go out of the way to not cover oval. i like all types of racing but to me oval is the most fun and id like to read a mag that atleast trys for me in this area. i just read the last issue and in it they had the best offroad truck, buggy, gas truck, moster truck, touring car, and even an 1/8th onroad mugan. yet you couldnt put one pan car in there? why is that? you even said that the 1/8 onroad class is probly the most expensive and least experienced forms of racing yet you put that in your magizine but not a Oval pan car. i have another 6 months on this subscription and i plan on reordering for next year as long as there is more Oval in it.

Joe Ivo

ok i sent them that email and soon after i got this shady reply:
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
There are several reasons.

1. We covered the carpet oval Nats last year and I didn’t receive one email or anything to indicate increased coverage.
  2. The oval community as a whole doesn’t support itself. I understand there is a following, but the majority of the companies don’t even advertise their products to increase awareness of the segment. To me that’s one of the worst things any company could do is rely on a magazine to cover a small class, or support their company. If I was out to sell cars and grow the segment I would advertise. It’s the way things work in this industry