Hobbyist Forums banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've spent a year adapting the Fujimi Spinner, the final thing (!!!) I need to do is light the bubble domes, for which I think I'll need a board with -

- 14 channels for pulsing / breathing light sequences
- Sequences to be of slightly varying speeds
- Board to be max 6cms x 4.5cms

I tried to achieve this by using multiple 555 timers + transistors, but this approach didn't work - the sequences seemed to truncate each other. I've exhausted every avenue, and as a relative noob I would appreciate any advice as to how to achieve the effect I'm looking for.

Any help would be appreciated.

PS: I can't include links/photos as this is my first post...

Attachments

·
Premium Member
2,613 Posts
First, I'm embarrassed I've not gotten further on this build, but I'm easly distracted with life and other builds and projects..... I used an Arduino Pro-Mini, it's small and can handle effect very well, plus, once the sketch is loaded the FTDI interface board is removed. I used 0603 SMD LEDs and 33AWG Mag-wire for my effect. I wanted more then just flashing lights, the main globes had to have motion. I hope the photos show what I did well enough for you to get an idea. Go to 1:27 into the video to see the effect I went with.... Please be sure to post your progress, I love WIP photos......:thumbsup:

Attachments

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Teslabe, thanks for your response. Your posts were invaluable when I was starting out on this little project (seems so long ago now...). I spent waay too long trying the old analogue route for lighting effects, but have now ordered some pro mini boards. I don't know why it took me so long to switch - the solution looks so easy in retrospect. Also, thank you for the coated "Mag-Wire" nod - this is the solution to a problem I've had, but just didn't know the correct search term.