Hobbyist Forums banner

1 - 20 of 134 Posts

·
Registered
187 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
The following message is my personal opinion and reflects zero alterial motives!

Hi Im Billy Bruce, I have been racing since 1987 (13 years old).Worked in hobby shops, started hobby shops and race tracks, laid ground work for state series, ran races and promoted races, worked for manufatucers and currently work for a Manufacurer.

I got into this hobby cause i wanted to race something on my dads off-season drag racing. Any form of racing there is a pay to play aggenda. He would spend 50k plus on motors and transmissions and this was a CHEAP alternative to that, and a great way to spend time with his son.
When i got started esc was just coming out. I bought the novak 4 and 1 they was awesome aslong as you didnt reverse polarity. then you was buying another for 150 buck when it just up and quit. TRc pan cars where $400 and TQ eagle if you could get one was about the same I saw on a regular basis ppl buyin speedos every week....

now lets fast forward.... 89-92. Lake Whippoorwill, 2 new batteries a week([email protected]), new motors every week([email protected]), 100 packs of brushes $100-150 a bag every couple of months, oh yeah lets not forget capped tires 120$ a set and could very well blow one out every run.
Fast Forwad again... 99ish thru 2003 ish.... sub c cells getting bigger but not better... to be compettive you must have at least 2 new packs every race or you was tied to a pole runnig a lane out the whoel race cause your gettin passed that much. So thats lets say 4-6 packs a month. most pay from 40-80 for 4 cells and 60-100 for 6 cells.

now over the last few years of racing those things have went away and we have new things rite. Last year i bought 2 batteries and bought 2 motors. Less than $500 retail. bigger reduction in expense.