Hobbyist Forums banner

1 - 20 of 138 Posts

·
Registered
2,565 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I take possession of my 1st House tomorrow. I have the uninteresting task of cleaning it inside and out before we officially move in. However. I will gain a garage and possibly a section of the basement for which to run my slots. As much as I'd like to build a track for myself, I have committed myself to build a track for my church youth group. I recently gave them some more cars to run and I'd like to build a permanent/portable 4 lane track to race on.

I have a lot of tyco track, so I think I will run with that. I need some direction as I've never done this before. I will have to keep costs down as my budget is nearly zilch. I'm not sure what would be best for the base. I need something they can put away after use, so I'm thinking a large sheet of plywood. I saw a discarded pingpong table which would have been perfect except I have no way to transport it.

What do YOU suggest for a base? remember this will be taken down and put away on a fairly regular basis. I figure i will just use the wall warts for now. I have a donation of blue foam insulation I can use for sprucing it up scenery-wise. Can anybody offer any track Ideas? I'm open to suggestions on size and layouts as I'm going to approach the local hardware store about donating a piece of MDF or Plywood. I'll offer to put some advertising on it.

Comments??? Please talk amongst yourselves and share...

Thanks

·
Premium Member
3,558 Posts
Size Matters ??