Hobbyist Forums banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've got a John Deere riding mower with the above mentioned engine. For a while it's produced a puff or two of smoke on start up, but I've always kept the oil level where it should be. It's about 5 years old.

Lately, the engine's been making a loud ticking noise. Slow at idle, and of course increases as RPM increases. I'm not an expert, but I'm pretty sure it's a valve.

If it is a valve, would it be wise of me to do a complete engine overhaul?
How much would it run for a shop to do it, and how much would it run for parts if I were to do it myself? I'd need new gaskets and seals, and two new valves... perhaps I'd need to bore the cylinder and get a new piston?

Where can I find these parts online?

Thanks!

·
Registered
3,241 Posts
it ain't so old just to make sure check the valves. it could be that an engine mount bolt is loose or something else is loose. a valve is supposed to pop closed by a spring. i know my engine made that sort of noise. it was about 7 years old with alot of use. the engine oil loosened the mount bolts. now if it is the valves try cleaning them and make sure they seal. but it could be that something is loose. try this before you spend money. an all alluminum engine will last about 10 years with a small yard. around 8 on a huge one. and allways clean the combustion chamber by hand at least every year after you get it running right or rebuilt.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Ok well, like I said I'm not a pro mechanic, and I'm just doing this in my spare time.

I ran the engine before I took it apart, to get a good idea of the sound. It was the loudest when I put my head near the valve cover. Does this mean it is a valve?