Hobbyist Forums banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 47 Posts

·
Registered
837 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just got back from NCS#5 at MPR after being disqualified for rules violation on page 23. Chassis (11.12.05) #3 states "Lower control arms must be of equal length (plus or minus .125 inch) as measured from the centerline of the inner mounting point to the centerline of the ball joint.There is a tolerance of .125 inch for each lower control arm, that is to mean that the overall difference between the left and right lower control arms is .250 inch."

I am a novice and I bought this car on Hobby Talk last year. So I watched as 3 different people including the National Tech Director mark my car and measure from the center mark they used with a sharpie to both lower spindle bolts on my car and each got a different distance all over .250 inch. So I accepted my DQ not even knowing the rule trusting that the National Tech Director knew how to measure this correctly. I got home and measured from their marks and found it was off .310 off, a total of .051 too much on the right side, and I got my QSAC rulebook out to check my car all over for other possible infractions I was not aware of and I stumbled upon the rule above that I was disqualified for. I read it many times and realized they did not measure from the centerline of my ball joints like it said. They went from the center of the bottom spindle bolts. I had 4.5 degrees of positive camber in the LF and 4 degrees of negative camber in the RF. I took the bolts out of spindle and measured from the centerline of the ball-joint and found out I was within the .250 rule.