Hobbyist Forums banner
1 - 1 of 1 Posts

· Registered
5,326 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·

Going in to the final round of the BRCA National touring car championship five drivers were in contention to win the series outright, at the four previous rounds there had been four different winners and four different manufactures, the results made for a winner takes all show down at the final round. Andy Moore, Chris Grainger, Elliott Harper, Colin Price and Olly Jefferies all came to the final round at Mendip with a shot at securing the national title and it was Jefferies that got off to the best possible starts by taking TQ with his Associated TC6.1, behind Olly it was the LRP powered serpent of Chris Kerswell and the Tamiya of Elliott Harper, next up was the Hot Bodies of Andy Moore. Going in to the final round Chris Grainger lead the series by one point and on paper looked pre event favourite but problems in qualifying left him down the qualifying order and out of contention.

The first of the three leg finals went the way of Jefferies after fending off a hard challenge from Chris Kerswell. Leg two and Olly got off to another good start, this time the pressure came from the Hot Bodies of Andy Moore but the Associated driver held off a determined Andy Moore to take the leg two win and with it the meeting. The result gave Olly and Associated the championship win ahead of Chris Grainger and defending national champion Andy Moore, Olly adds the 2012 BRCA touring car national title to his two 1:12 national’s title he won earlier in the year.

In the junior categories there wins for Ross Walker and Kyle Gardner, and Team Ultimate Racing Drivers won the team race award.

Source: BRCA [brca.org]

1 - 1 of 1 Posts
This is an older thread, you may not receive a response, and could be reviving an old thread. Please consider creating a new thread.