Hobbyist Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
3,689 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Greetings folks.......

I read this slot board a few times a day,and didn't know where to post this,so I figured this was as good a place as any.

I have been collecting diecast for quite a few years now.I was lucky to build a decent collection of redlines a few years back,before they "caught on" if you know what I mean,and they got too rich for my blood.Some of you may remember me as the owner/moderator of the old Yahoo email groups that went by the name of "The Redline List".I still own and operate the original E Groups "HW-List" from '96 on Yahoo.
Now,I collect JL's pretty heavily,just as I did as a kid when the old Toppers were made,and pick up anything else I see that I like,whether it's a regular wheel MB,a Jada,or a Hotwheel.Doesn't matter who makes it as long as I like it.I do it for fun and for the love of all things cars.

For quite a few years now,I've been picking up HO track sets for dirt cheap at stores like Odd Lots.We'd play with them a bit,and I'd put them away in a corner of the basement.I had always wanted to build a nice permanent 4 lane HO track.
I had an original Tyco 4 laner from the mid '70's for Xmas as a kid that I had planned on using,but my dad so graciously threw it in the trash when he moved 4 or 5 years ago.

So a week or so ago,I stopped procrastinating,and dragged up all of the track from the basement.I built a nice little 4 lane track on a 4 by 6 table I made,soldered up most of the track joints,got the track fairly smooth and level,and just a little while ago built.tested and mounted a lap counter that I built with plans from ho slotcar racing.com.

Now that I've gotten this far,I'm sure that I'll have a lot of questions and advice to ask,so I have found in the past it is a good idea to introduce ones self first so that folks know a little about you,rather then to just jump on to a forum and do a "drive by".