Hobbyist Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all.

I am new to this hobby and would like to build the International 39. Would the 2 terminal tracks be enough power for it? I don't want to have to wire anything as of yet and would like something simple and fun for my first track.

Thanks

·
Registered
6,355 Posts
It's here, under the Layouts link:

http://hoslotcarracing.com/

It's a 4x8 layout and uses the Super International set along with a bunch of 15" straights...

--rick

·
Registered
94 Posts
I built the Int. 39 with 3 (or 4 - i forget) soldered power taps for each lane. Probably over kill but I wouldn't do less than 2. Is yours to be a permanent landscaped setup? If so consider multiple soldered taps.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Another newbie with the same idea

I currently have the Super International Raceway in a box, along with a crap load of other track that I need to inventory. I'm almost positive I already have the track sections I need to complete this track. I'm purchasin the 4x8 wood this weekend. My initial thoughts, plans are:

1) Start with a nonpermanent layout.

2) Was considering a seperate power track for each lane (until I go perm.)

3) The track must be somewhat portable, as it will be placed in my spare bedroom, OVER the folded out futon.

4) I want something to start racing. The more I enjoy it, the more work I plan to do to make it permanent and prettier. :)

5) I've read most of Greg Brauns site.

6) I'm not the handiest man and don't have tons 'o time initially.

A couple of quick questions:

a) What type of wood should I use?

b) Will the 4 power pieces be enough to keep me happy?

c) Any other advice?

I know its vague, but hey... I'm a newbie! :wave:

Thanks,
CJ

·
Premium Member
915 Posts