Hobbyist Forums banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello Everyone,

Just wondering what anyone could recommend for a new airbrush as I'm looking into acquiring a new one.

I have found the Grex Tritium TG3 and the Iwata Neo TRN1 which I like the look of.

I'm liking the Grex Tritium TG3 as there are a lot of extras I could acquire making it a really good brush, like the new fan spray pattern heads. Only thing is the price, but I guess you get what you pay for.

Just wondering on what people would consider and why.

Thanks

William

·
Registered
8,132 Posts
I bought a Grex Tritium on the spot at an IPMS show here a couple years ago as an impulse purchase after demoing the gun at the show. BEST control airbrush I have seen, hands down, and I have been airbrushing for almost 40 years. I've used Badgers, Iwatas, Paasche and Testors brushes and even an old Binks Wren. The Grex gravity feed is so easy to use and control, and the trigger grip is easy on the hand.

That doesn't mean the other brushes or brands aren't good, they are, or can be. But, the Grex is good and worth the money IMHO. The thing is too, if you have to buy a couple cheaper brushes to get what you want, then you have paid for the Grex in the first place.

Having said that, I also use an Iwata Revolution with the fine needle and tip added to replace the larger ones that come in the package. It's a fine airbrush for general use.

Downside to the Grex is that getting parts is a little harder than other brands. It's not obscure, but you can't get parts at Hobby Lobby or your local arts and craft store, who will sell Badger, Paasche and Iwata parts. Also, parts are not cheap. A new needle and spray tip (very fragile on the Grex because the tip is exposed) will set you back $60. A Badger needle and tip will run you all of $15.