Hobbyist Forums banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Premium Member
1,366 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys, I've been racing now for only a couple of years on and off and I've had help from people about how to tune my car at the track but I still haven't gotten a clear picture in my mind as to what the suspension is doing in the turns. Specifically weight transfer on entry, through the center, and on exit.

(Maybe some can describe it in detail as the car rolls through the turns?)

I'm the kind of person that has to see it in my mind to really figure it out and I'm thinking if I can really get how the suspension works on the front and rear of the chassis then I can figure out on my own how to fine tune the car know matter what track I'm at.

My goal this year in racing is to figure out how the car works and tune it on my own, along with getting faster on the track. :thumbsup:

Would really like to gain knowledge from some of you more experienced DUDES!

·
Registered
598 Posts
I think you have to start with the fundamental basics of knowing what the car is doing. Being able to determine if the car is loose or tight is a basic idea that you HAVE to know.

A loose car is always fast, but is the car loose or is it pushing so much that it is breaking loose?? Big difference there. Where are the other guys beating you on the track? Are they beating you off the corners, down the straights? Knowing this can help with figuring out if you lack drive off of the corner or speed down the straights.

I can't speak about front suspension and what it is doing in the corner per se, because I honestly am not that knowledgeable about it. I know how I want my car to feel and I can gauge my performance off of those on the track with me. One rule I always follow is this.....