Hobbyist Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey, guys:

I'm a newbie on this list but have been racing HO Aurora slot cars for more years than I care to remember!! To make a long story short, I'm getting closer to having a place in which to build my dream track but, until then, I'm putting together a short test track just to use to get all my cars in good running order.

My problem is that most of my track has grungy and rusty contact rails. I know there's a way clean that stuff off and the rails shiney again but I don't know what it is. I've tried the eraser trick but the rails are too grungy for that. I'm afraid to go sanding on them for fear I'll scratch up the roadway. Is there a "miracle cure" out there for this problem??? Also, is there a generally accepted "best" way to clean off the road surface of track that has been stored for years???

Thanks so much,
Andy Walker
Edmond, OK

·
Registered
602 Posts
Welcome Andy,
I would say there a few options here.

#1 It would probably be OK to use some 800 or 1000 grit sandpaper to get the thing in order. Just don't do it every day.

#2 if you don't like the sound of that, you could use a wire wheel in a dremmel to knock off the big stuff. Just remember to wear eye protection.

#3 when you are done, you can treat the whole surface with a light coat of WD-40 applied with a rag.

Have fun:wave:

·
Premium Member
140 Posts
There's a liquid product called evapo-rust that I have used to get rid of rust on tracks. As little as an hour or two soaking works. You can find it at most hardware stores, maybe even auto parts stores. Google it, and check it out for yourself. It works well for all but the most badly pitted track. I would follow it up with some WD-40, or the rust will eventually come back.

·
Registered
1,098 Posts
You might also simply consider picking up new track...