Hobbyist Forums banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
407 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hi all first off happy newyear. i was wondering if any one knows how to scratch build or any tips on building dealer ship for hotwheels\green light size vec. i looked on the web only found a few sites none of them gave details, i thought of useing ho scale building but i am not very good at building models. so figer this is bestplace to ask. so if any one can help me out

thanks

happy new year

david

·
Registered
995 Posts
WOW! Those are way out of my price range for buildings...I guess I'll stick with the old shoebox and markers for my cars....

·
Registered
407 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
i saw some of them on markstoy box they look awsome. but i am clueless on how to start. can you give directions how to build a dealership?,buildings like on your layout?

thanks for evry one tips\help

·
Registered
10,947 Posts
Is this a mix of 1:64 people and HO Scale? The folks in front of the popcorn machine look both scales. Oh, and did I mention the fact the you even HAVE a pop corn machine? LOL!

·
Registered
365 Posts
There are plenty of sources for materials and supplies- you just have to shop around. I've never bought or sold anything on ebay though. It all depends on what you want to focus on and your budget. You can make a lot of stuff cheap- using wood or MDF with stuff from craft and hobby stores. At least 1/2 of my stuff is scratch-built. Since my layout is so large I try to keep it simple, and concentrate on the "little" details. I do use a lot of smaller railroad/ diorama/ scenery details to make it realistic.

I tend to focus on the sales lot in my dealerships... afterall, the diecast are the star of the show. All my larger dealer set-ups (8 foot long x 30 inches wide) also have some street in the foreground with the "building", which is just a false front in most cases, as part of the background.