Hobbyist Forums banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all,

I am new here and looking for some advise. I have two go carts with B&S engines. I bought the engines at a sale a couple or 3 years ago and they have been in the tool shed sitting. They were originally utilized in some industrial application that resulted in very little use until I bought them.
I put these on the kids Go Carts in the spring and have been finishing the project a little at a time as I have a few minutes. I travel a lot for work, so a few minutes with a good project like this is better than a truck load of Diamonds to me.

Briggs & Stratton Engines are as follows.

Go Cart #1
Model 133232
Type 103GE1
Code 991104YB

Go Cart # 2
Model 135232
Type 1036 E
Code 990930YB

I have downloaded the Parts manual for both from B&S website.

The engines ran rough before I put in new carb kits. My background is as follows. I have mechanical engineering background and used to work with small engines, diesel engines, gas engines, turbine engines in many applications for work and for fun. I must tell you in the past 10-15 years I have not had the time to have projects like before, I have not torn down and worked on them like years ago, but I don't think I have forgotten much of what I learned as a younger man either. So, I am not current with recent technology and not current with shortcuts to make these run better. But I am no couch potato either.

Anyway, I bought the gasket kits (2 gaskets - diaphram and tank gaskets) for the carbs and cleaned them out, put in all new kits. No new gaskets on either shaft was in the kits. I had not worked on this type of carb design before that did not have a fuel bowl. There are very few parts. I downloaded the parts manual and seemed to understand how everything was assembled and worked together.