Hobbyist Forums banner

1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
What are your guy's opinions on the future value of hot wheels, mainly recolours, treasure hunts, and supers. Will the newer hot wheels hold the value of the older redlines and classics? I honestly don't think so.

The reason I ask this is because I've been having the thought of opening up everything(except my treasure hunts and supers), and displaying them in a nicely built custom case to appreciate daily.

I've been collecting since I was about 6 years old, being 19 now I appreciate the looks of my older cars(and newer ones). Right now my collection is in about seven tubs stacked in the attic. It sucks not being able to see my collecting over the years. I did hang each hot wheel on my wall(covered two walls in my room), but took them down because it was a pain. You bump the wall and it would damage the cards. Not to mention the thumb tacks I had to use to hang the short-card variations(which probably ruined their "value").

To you collectors out there, how do you display your collection? Do you even display? What's your opinion on the future of hot wheels in terms of value?

Thanks guys and gals :)

-Dylan

·
Registered
1,282 Posts
Ok, here goes a rant.

There are far too many cars made now days. Unlike in the early days, even up to the early 90s, there weren't that many collectors out there. Since about 1997 and up, collecting has been on a upward trend. There are far too many examples out there of mint examples on cards. The newer treasure hunts are nothing but another mainline series. The hype is collector-created. They never will release numbers on how many are exactly made, but there are plenty out there. The green stripe is over hyped. That's why when people see 3 of them hanging, they take all of them.

Money plays part of this too. The newest $uper hunt can be sold on eBay for a hefty premium.