Hobbyist Forums banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
81 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
the old man recently had a cleanout and came across a 1961 Revell model kit of a Chrysler motorized engine - 1/4 scale. I was amazed at the quality of this kit (for its age). The instruction booklet is finely detailed and it even comes with its own tools, bags of metal components, electric motor and lights. In its day this model must have cost a packet. His reason for not building was that it was too good to build.

Anyway here's a few pics of this wonderful kit.

·
Registered
948 Posts
Man that is sweet! I would love to have a kit like that! I have had 2 old Plymouths with that engine!

·
Registered
4,905 Posts
WOW! What an awesome find! I don't think I have ever seen that one before!
Gonna build it? Sell it for something else you want??
Very Cool find!
Chris

·
Registered
2,773 Posts
I had that kit - Built it - It's long gone! I was a High School freshman in 1961!
That complete - unbuilt kit is probably worth a pretty nice dollar these days!

Brings back memories!

Dave

·
Registered
141 Posts
Revell Slant Six - the rest of the story

Jim Keeler, Revell's car guy in the first half of the 1960s, told me this story when I was researching "Remembering Revell": Revell wanted to do a GM V-8, but GM would not support it [perhaps because Monogram was doing its Chevy V-8 at the same time]. So Revell went with Chrysler cars and the slant-6, an engine that Chrysler wanted to promote. Keeler thought this was the wrong engine to do, so he proposed that Revell at least add competition parts. Revell rejected this idea and went ahead with a basic engine. Revell brought a real slant-6 into its model shop to copy directly in making the model. So it's very accurate. The model did not sell very well. Nor did the Chrysler car annuals Revell issued.