Hobbyist Forums banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
789 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all,

I just started using Faskolr paint. I have always used the lacquer based paint before. Now I have lots of questions,

1) why does the paint look a different color on the body than it does in the bottle?

2) how much air pressure? I'm using a pasche compresor, and it only goes to about 40 psi.

3) Should I thin this stuff?

4) any tips you may have would be great. Because as of right now I have about 15 bottles of this stuff, in colors that I really wanted to spray, but I just can't get it to spray right.

Thanks,
Tom

·
Premium Member
1,661 Posts
I am not an expert at this for sure...... From practice I found about 1/4 part water did the trick. The neon colors seemed to be fine straight up. A trick I have heard of, but have not tried yet is not thinning out the paint at all. Instead soak the paint bottles in HOT water. It thins it out a little and still holds the true color when it sprays... I hope someone jumps on and corrects me if I have misguided you.

·
Registered
2,764 Posts
for thinning... i use winshield washer fluid... i found that if i used water, that the paint would clump up and clog my airbrush!
as for the colors not looking right, it all depends on what colors you back it with, and also how good you shake it! sometimes though, as i found out w/ candy apple red - i think that was the color, it actually looked HORRIBLE and like a pink/purple mixture... i wasnt too thrilled!

and for durability, dont forget to coat the thing with FASKOAT after you are all done!

-Tone

·
Registered
789 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
eviltone said:
for thinning... it actually looked HORRIBLE and like a pink/purple mixture... i wasnt too thrilled!

-Tone